Under My Father’s Shadow

Father

Image courtesy of thegospelcoalition.org

 

Discipline is an essential part of success and growth in every single field of life.

You can’t have a drunk pilot. You can’t have banker who steals. You can’t have a doctor with a fetish. You can’t have a leader that lies. (Well, the last one exists, so just skip it)!

The point is discipline and self control are very essential. Without them one will lose focus, credibility, and eventually success.

The source of all these problems is simply, “house virtues.” Parents aren’t doing their jobs like they used to in the past few decades. I remember how my father brought me up. It was the old school way. I don’t need to get deep into what that is like because we all know what “old school” means. His job was to bring out the man in me. Period.

He didn’t hit or shout at me. He simply lead me by being a role model. I watched and recorded until I one day understood why he was doing certain things that way.

He put his principles before everything. He works hard. He tries to never complain. He provides, even at hard times. He never put his needs before us. He definitely gave more than he got out of his family.

To be fair, there were some negative things I noticed along the way.

He wasn’t friendly and our relationship never became personal. I never understood why. Everything was formal with him.

But as I grew older, I realized it wasn’t his job to be my friend or homie. He was my father, my mentor, the leader. He wasn’t there to entertain me. He was there to prepare me for what would later turn out to be a hard knock life.

He lead by example. He gained my respect.

This is to all the hard workers out there leading by example, whether you are a father, mother, manager, farmer, teacher etc… keep leading by example. Nothing tops the feeling of earning other people’s respect.

As Maya Angelou once said: “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

 

Until next time,

Leave a Reply

